Council makes appointments to Boards and Commissions but not the PC

On September 18, Charlottesville City Council made several appointments to Boards and Commissions, but did not select a person to sit on the Planning Commission. A seventh seat on that appointed body has been vacant since Liz Russell resigned in June.

Other appointments were made:

  • Brian Johnson and Roy van Doorn were reappointed to the Joint Airport Commission. This seven-member body exists to advise the Joint Authority Board which consists of the City Manager, the Albemarle County Executive, and one appointee. That person is currently Donald Long, who sits on both bodies. 
  • Quinton Harrell was appointed to the Charlottesville Economic Development Authority, a seven-member body that “was established to promote economic development in the community, expand the local tax base and to encourage more job opportunities for our citizens.” 
  • Shaniece Bradford has been appointed to the Board of Directors to the Piedmont Family YMCA. Both Albemarle County and Charlottesville have appointed members to this body since committing capital funds to build their aquatics and fitness center in McIntire Park in the late 2000’s.
  • Casey Erickson and Miller Murray Susen have been appointed to the Charlottesville Sister Cities Commission to positions that had been vacant.
  • Dashad Cooper has been appointed to the Community Criminal Justice Board. Cooper was a candidate for City Council in the June 20 primary after having also been a candidate in the Democratic nomination for House District 54. 

The closing date for the Planning Commission vacancy is October 31. 

For the full list of vacancies, take a look at the city’s website.

Mayor Lloyd Snook encouraged people to consider applying for a position. 

“You can go to the city’s website for boards and commissions where it says Join a Board and Commission and just see what positions are vacant,” Snook said. “And if you see something there and say ‘I know something about that, I can contribute something there’ we would love to have you.” 

Snook did not mention the Planning Commission vacancy. Commissioners Hosea Mitchell and Rory Stolzenberg were reappointed to new four-year terms in June. Several people had applied during a previous window but Council opted not to make a selection. No one applied during this cycle, but seven had applied in the previous deadline. Council opted not to make a selection at that time. 

Before you go: The time to write and research of this article is covered by paid subscribers to Charlottesville Community Engagement. In fact, this particular installment comes from the September 26, 2023 edition of the program. To ensure this research can be sustained, please consider becoming a paid subscriber or contributing monthly through Patreon.

Leave a Reply