New city housing committees get members but enough to form quorum

Charlottesville City Council has appointed members to two new committees formed as part of a call to restructure the way funding for affordable housing projects is governed.

“A major portion of the discussion during the Affordable Housing Plan that was developed a year plus ago was talking about the need to separate out the different functions, the different advisory functions into a funding committee and just the general Housing Advisory Committee [HAC],” said Charlottesville Mayor Lloyd Snook. 

Page 13 of the Charlottesville Affordable Housing Plan. Several members of the new HAC have previously served on the old HAC. (view the plan)

Council first took up the Charlottesville Affordable Housing Fund (CAHF) Committee. Unfortunately, they could not fully staff that group. 

“We have six people to appoint but we did not get six applicants,” Snook said.

However, they did make two appointments to the new CAHF Committee. 

  • Philip d’Oronzio, (also on Charlottesville Planning Commission)
  • S. Lisa Herndon, President of the Charlottesville Area Association of Residents

Next they took up the Charlottesville Housing Advisory Committee (HAC) Committee. They appointed the following:

  • John Sales, Executive Director of the Charlottesville Redevelopment and Housing Authority (three year term)
  • Sunshine Mathon, Executive Director of the Piedmont Housing Alliance (non-profit two-year term)
  • Corey Demchak, Director of Programs at Albemarle Home Improvement Program (non-profit one-year)
  • Philip d’Oronzio (real estate representative, three year term)
  • Dan Rosensweig (real estate representative, two year term)
  • Abigail Palko (at-large, three year term)
  • Josh Hughes (at-large, two year term)
  • Joy Johnson (affordable housing beneficiary, three year term) 
  • Elise Noyes (affordable housing beneficiary, one year term) 

A one year term for the real estate term is still open.  Rosensweig is also the president of Habitat for Humanity of Greater Charlottesville. Johnson is the Section 3 coordinator for the Charlottesville Redevelopment and Housing Authority. d’Oronzio is the Chief Executive Officer of Pilot Mortgage

Before you go: The time to write and research of this article is covered by paid subscribers to Charlottesville Community Engagement. In fact, this particular installment comes from the January 20, 2023 edition of the program. To ensure this research can be sustained, please consider becoming a paid subscriber or contributing monthly through Patreon.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.